BP’s Apocalypse

“The Gulf of Mexico is a very big ocean. The amount of volume of oil and dispersant we are putting into it is tiny in relation to the total water volume…”

~ BP chief executive Tony Hayward, May 14th, 2010

What a complete fucking asshole.

Oh, and have you seen anything quite like this photo on the TV news?

It’s a photo from a passenger airliner, and it seems to show an absolute fuckload of oil (fuckload is an esoteric industry term which means really a goddamn lot).  If that photo pisses you off half as much as it does me, then at the very least, please join the Boycott BP page on Facebook.  Then, follow through, and you know, actually boycott BP, as the only way to make a point with lying, corporate pieces of shit is by impacting their profits.

And speaking of lying, corporate pieces of shit, were you aware of the fact that the dispersant BP is using (Corexit) in the gulf is MORE TOXIC  and LESS EFFECTIVE than other available dispersants?  And were you aware of the fact that the company that manufactures Corexit (Nalco Co.) shares an executive with BP?  And once again proving that you can’t keep a lying, world destroying piece of shit down, I just discovered that in 2003, none other than Goldman Sachs was part of a three-pronged group that purchased Nalco, so they were not only a key player in destroying the world’s economy, and facilitating the greatest wealth transfer in, well, all of recorded history, but they can now take pride in the knowledge that they’ve had a small hand in bringing about the 7th sign of the Hopi Indian end times prophecy, but I suppose I digress.

I’m not much of a TV watcher, but I was fortunate enough to stumble upon Democracy Now! last night and caught Amy Goodman’s interview with Carl Safina, President of the Blue Ocean Institute.   He was knowledgeable, passionate and well spoken, and I was incredibly moved by his response to Goodman’s question “Who do you think should be in charge of this cleanup operation?”

“BP had a lease to drill.  They did not have a lease to pollute the Gulf of Mexico.  They did not have a lease to blow oil into the environment.  They did not have a lease to disperse the oil and try to hide the body.  They don’t have a lease to clean up.  They did not have a lease to make fishermen sick.  They did not have a lease to tell the United states that we’ll keep using a dispersant that’s banned in Europe, even though you’re telling us to stop using it.  They should have been shoved out of the way on day 2, and there should have been a war council of all the other oil companies that know how to drill to focus on stopping the oil from coming out of the hole, and then BP’s responsibility, they ARE responsible … their responsibility should be what they’re good at; pay money.  Pay money to the United States.  They’re on our property, they’re in our water, they’re making our people sick and destroying our wildlife – pay money and have the United States take over.”

I can’t find a clip of the entire interview to post, but below is a sizable clip that includes the part excerpted above.

Now, I’m not suggesting that this is a simple problem to solve, but I AM stating, quite emphatically, that the lies and profiteering must stop immediately.  First and foremost, anybody with even half a brain, including the Nobel laureate currently occupying the American empire’s throne, should understand that BP is NOT the organization that should be heading up this cleanup, seeing as it was their bottom-line-is-God approach that led to the blowout to begin with, and it was their obfuscation of the scope of the problem over the ensuing weeks that have gotten us into the extremely unfortunate position we find ourselves in now.

Safina was on to something important when he said that we need a “war council of all the other oil companies that know how to drill.”  We need many more independent voices involved in this, including foreign governments, as the gulf stream feeds waters that impact many other nations.   BP obviously has too much to gain/lose to be trusted, and as I indicated above, it’s literally beyond my comprehension that they have been allowed to run this show for over a month, using hundreds of thousands of gallons of a dispersant that is far more toxic than the alternative, while having the extra added benefit of cutting their losses by virtue of their part ownership of the company.

Aren’t you sick and goddamned tired of the lying, cheating, stealing corporotocracy that is now in charge of the world?  I mean, fucking really????  Are our heads really that far up the corporate ass that our elected officials allow this horseshit to go on, and we allow them to allow it?

Please get angry about this.  Tell them that you’re mad as hell and you’re not going to take it any more.  Or join the Facebook group and then forget about it.  Just please do something to let them know that they can’t get away with ruining our world any more, or they’ll keep on ruining it, and profiting from it, and laughing all the way to the off-shore bank.

11 Comments

  1. [...] attacked the civil liberties of its citizens, allowed a corporate takeover of the government, and destroyed an entire ecosystem.  And yet, they are are the ones who are marginalized as nutty as they try to provide an [...]

  2. [...] And this from the guy who also recently pointed out that the Gulf of Mexico is indeed a very large body of water. [...]

  3. [...] Goldman Sachs was part of a three-pronged group that purchased NALCO [...]

  4. I’m as pissed off as anyone about this situation, I grew up on the gulf and am beyond heartbroken at what’s happening.

    I also work in the project management world, and have in the past worked with several large oil companies who do offshore drilling…as well as a laundry list of clients in other industries.

    I am as unhappy as you are with the fact that the corporation that is responsible for the mess is now being allowed to clean it up…

    BUT

    Do you really want the government in charge of the effort? I mean, the federal government has *none* of the equipment or expertise necessary to do the job! (OK, there are probably lots of ex-oil company execs working in federal agencies, but they’re not the ones who actually know how to DO the job…)

    I suppose that another oil company could do the cleanup, but that would take more time, which is problematic given the fact that there’s an open spigot gushing oil into the gulf every second that the situation isn’t dealt with. And, in the end, an oil company is an oil company is an oil company, right? At least, they are to me…

    I don’t like the oil industry, and so I do what I can to minimize my use of petroleum products. I’m not happy to find us (collectively) in this position, but I think that letting BP plug the leak is probably the most effective way to resolve the situation. That’s not to say it’s good, or even acceptable what’s happening now, but I’m damned well unable to come up with a *workable* alternative.

    Bitching is one thing, constructive suggestions are another. Thus far I’ve heard a lot of the former, and zero of the latter. Just sayin…

  5. I appreciate your input, Jack, but I’m not sure that you read my entire post.

    You said:

    “Do you really want the government in charge of the effort? I mean, the federal government has *none* of the equipment or expertise necessary to do the job! (OK, there are probably lots of ex-oil company execs working in federal agencies, but they’re not the ones who actually know how to DO the job…)”

    Well, at no point, did I say that I want the government in charge of the effort. Read my post, or read it again, and it will be clear to you that I’m calling for the input of “all the other oil companies that know how to drill.” I went on to say that “we need many more independent voices involved in this, including foreign governments, as the gulf stream feeds waters that impact many other nations.”

    You also said:

    “I suppose that another oil company could do the cleanup, but that would take more time, which is problematic given the fact that there’s an open spigot gushing oil into the gulf every second that the situation isn’t dealt with. And, in the end, an oil company is an oil company is an oil company, right? At least, they are to me…”

    The other oil companies should have been consulted IMMEDIATELY, instead of the corporotocracy circling its wagons, protecting BP and their own shoddy “oversight”, by obfuscating the extent of the problem for a month. I realize that we can’t turn back the clock, but I absolutely believe that we should still get the input of as many INDEPENDENT third parties as possible. Are oil companies all the same? Well, to the extent that they are all profit-driven corporations, yes, but in this specific instance, BP obviously is in no position to be trusted, since it is liable for any and all damage. It’s impossible to solve a problem when the extent of the problem is always shrouded in ass-covering lies, and independent third parties would do away with that particular aspect of this mess.

    Finally, you said:

    “Bitching is one thing, constructive suggestions are another. Thus far I’ve heard a lot of the former, and zero of the latter. Just sayin…”

    Well, as I indicated above, I DID give potential solutions in my original post, and I’ve elaborated on them a bit here in my response to you. The entire point of my blog is to expose the hidden corporate/government nexus that has guided our civilization into the military/economic/environmental mess that we find ourselves in today. So, of course I’m going to “bitch” about BP and the US government’s complicity in this nightmare. People need to see this issue the way that I’ve outlined it, because the mainstream media is only interested in protecting the corporate status quo. But again, and importantly, I’m NOT just “bitching.” I DID, and do, provide “construction suggestions” to the problems that I discuss.

    Best,

    America PSYCHO

  6. Nice blog my friend. I just started a blog on wordpress myself. Yes this does piss me off to no end bro!

  7. I live down the bayou in dulac louisiana and my family and friends have lost our entire way of life. i am not one to take this shit sitting down. i appreciate the information i am getting here and i am looking for ways to fight this and get the truth out to the public down here.if there is anyone could help us with this it would be greatly appreciated. thank ya’ll

    • I am so sorry for your situation, Michael. I can’t imagine what this must be like for you.

      As for fighting, the best weapon we have is information. Just make sure that you spread the REAL, independent news to as many people as possible, and also, do your best to persuade those people to abandon the DIS-information put forth by the corporate media.

      I wish I had more of an answer for you, but the major reason why corporations have been allowed to destroy our society over the past few decades is that the corporate controlled media has done such a tremendous job of presenting a false reality, and again, the best remedy for that is independent reporting.

      There are lots of great voices out there. See my blogroll links for a good listing of those voices, and spread the word to your neighbors.

      And finally, best of luck to you. Hang in there.

  8. Ummm….I do not dispute that there is a “fuckload” of oil being pumped into the Gulf. However, the photo you have appears to show nothing more than than a tidal marsh that may or may not be affected by the oil spill. Its difficult to tell based on the photo since the color changes shown in the photograph often occur naturally in tidal marshes. Look at an aerial of Atchafalya Bay and Fourleague Bay in the southwesternmost part of Louisiana along the Gulf.

    Again….not saying there isn’t a fuckload of oil being pumped into the Gulf, but the picture is not necessarily evidence of that.

    • The language I used regarding the photo made it clear that it’s an unconfirmed source.

      I said:

      “It’s a photo from a passenger airliner, and it SEEMS to show an absolute fuckload of oil…”

      But having said that, it looks as if we’re on the same page regarding the amount of oil (fuckload), so why don’t we just agree to agree?

  9. [...] apocalypse in the Gulf of Mexico, then you’ve probably heard of their product, Corexit.  In this piece, I pointed out [...]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.